Products   rhinoreverse™  
Rhinoceros
 


- Rhinoceros
- Features
- System Requirements
- Flamingo
- Penguin
- Bongo
- RhinoCAM
- RhinoART
- RhinoART Tutorials
- Rhinoreverse
- Testversions

 
SpaceClaim
 
- Overview
- Features & Benefits
- New Modules
- Testversions
 
VisualMILL
 
- Overview
- Posts
- What it does
- Testversions
- VisualTurn
 
NuGraf & Polytrans
 
- What is NuGraf?
- Features
- Polytrans
 
DATAKIT
 
- CAD-filetranslator
 
     
 

rhinoreverse command control

rhinoreverse is plug-in software for the CAD-system Rhinoceros©. The purpose is to create spline-faces based on given mesh of point data. The user interactions have been reduced on sketching the boundary curves for the new faces. All calculations will be done automatically. This leads to a very simple and intuitive handling. One big advantage is the option to represent large complex shapes by a few faces.

Watch the movie to get an idea how to start.

rhinoreverse enables the user to transform digitised surfaces (point meshes) to spline faces. The goal is to prepare further design steps of the CAx-process-chain like solid modelling and NC-programming.

Additional a so called "healing" algorithm was implemented. Already existing NURBS-poly-face models can be improved: Small gaps, steps and overlaps will be filled automatically. The goal is to improve data quality in order to enable solid-modelling and NC-milling.

1. Ease of use
Arbitrary faces can be defined, to represent design intentions like feature lines very smoothly. The user only has to sketch a grid, containing boundary curves for all new faces (Figure 1 to 3). In addition with some keyboard commands and display methods the use of rhinoreverse is very easy.


1 STL-data
2 Sketched boundary curves
3 Resulting NURBS faces

2. Innovative new algorithms to calculate and handle trimmed faces bring exceptional advantages
Compared to rhinoreverse 1 the new version generates trimmed faces. This procedure enables the user to define arbitrary faces by up to 25 boundary curves. Figure 4 shows such a typical trimmed face, highlighted in yellow, with more than 4 boundary curves. Decoupling the approximation routine from the sketched boundary curves improves the shape quality a lot. The shape of the face is now only dependent from the shape of the given point mesh. The use of trimmed faces also reduces the manual effort at around 50% (compared to rhinoreverse 1): Less curves have to be sketched. To sketch the curves for the model shown in figure 1 we need today approx. 25 faces. Using rhinoreverse 1 we needed approx 50.


4 Sketched boundary curves
5 Before boolean operation
6 After boolean operation

3. High face quality of the calculated multi face model enables solid modelling
If the option "Healing" is used, the transitions between calculated faces will be adjusted to Rhino's current tolerance settings. This ensures that the resulting face model can be used afterwards for solid operations or NC programming without any rework (Figure 5 and 6).

4. Fast skinning method
The additional option to rapidly create simplyfied faces (which was available in rhinoreverse 1, too), has been revised and improved. The goal is to represent point meshes "quick and dirty" with a small number of faces. The example in figure 8/9 shows the representation of the head by the use of only 4 NURBS-faces.



8 Sketched boundary curves
9 Resulting NURBS faces

5. Feature Overview:

  • Several import interfaces for mesh data (*.stl, *.wrl, *.vrml, *.af, *.nas, *.txt)
  • Simple sketching of boundary curves on the given mesh data by using the mouse
  • Flexible definition of the faces by 2 to 25 boundary curves (former: 4 curves define one face)
  • Optional mode, to skin the point mesh "quick and dirty" with a low number of faces
  • Flexible use of arbitrary T-joins for local refinements
  • Use of several shortcuts to modify and enlarge the curve grid by mouse and keyboard
  • Use of only one file (*.3dm) for saving all data
  • Automatic calculation of topology by using graph algorithms
  • Automatic approximation of the start faces to the point mesh
  • Robustness against small holes and sharp edges in the mesh
  • Automatic recalculation of face transitions to Rhino's tolerance settings
  • Robustness against gaps in the point mesh
  • Additional "healing"-function, to improve quality of already existing face models: Automatical elimination of small gaps, steps and overlaps.

back

 


HOME · PRODUCTS · SHOWCASE · TRAINING · SUPPORT · HOW TO BUY · CONTACT

Produkte   rhinoreverse™  
Rhinoceros
 


- Rhinoceros
- Funktionalität
- Systemvoraussetzung
- Flamingo
- Penguin
- Bongo
- RhinoCAM
- RhinoART
- RhinoART Tutorials
- Rhinoreverse
- Testversionen

 
SpaceClaim
 
- Überblick
- Funktionen & Nutzen
- Neue Module
- Testversionen
 
VisualMILL
 
- Überblick
- Posts
- Was es alles kann
- VisualTurn
- Testversionen
 
NuGraf & Polytrans
 
- Was ist NuGraf
- Features
- Polytrans
 
DATAKIT
 
- CAD-Datenübersetzer
 
     
 

rhinoreverse Steuerung über Befehle

rhinoreverse ist ein Plug-in für das CAD-Programm Rhinoceros©. Spline-Flächen lassen sich einfach und intuitiv auf der Basis von gegebenen Punktenetzen erzeugen.
Der Arbeitsaufwand des Anwenders beschränkt sich auf das Skizzieren der Randkurven für die gewünschten Flächen. Alle weiteren Berechnungen erfolgen automatisch. Vorteilhaft ist vor allem die Möglichkeit, mit wenigen grossen Flächen komplexe Oberflächenformen schnell und formnah abzubilden.

Einen Eindruck über die ersten Schritte gibt der Film.

Mit rhinoreverse lässt sich die Oberfläche von digitalisierten (z.B. gescannten) Modellen in NURBS Flächen umwandeln. Die Daten werden auf diese Weise optimal für die weitere Bearbeitung in der CAx-Kette z.B. Volumenerstellung oder NC-Programmierung, aufbereitet.
Zusätzlich wurde eine sogenannte "Healing"-Funktion entwickelt, mit der sich auch bestehende Flächenmodelle nachbearbeiten lassen: Kleine Risse und Lücken im Flächenmodell werden automatisch geschlossen. Ziel dabei ist es auch hier, die Datenqualität soweit zu verbessern, dass die Modelle der weiteren Verarbeitung in der CAx-Kette genügen.

1. Einfache Vorgehensweise
Durch die Erzeugung von mehreren bzw. vielen Flächen im Verband besteht die Möglichkeit, Designabsichten z.B. in der Form von Feature-Kanten gut in das zu erzeugende Flächenmodell einzubringen. Der Benutzer muss dazu mit der Maus ein Kurven-Gitter auf dem Punkte-Netz skizzieren (Bilder 1 bis 3). Zahlreiche Tastaturbefehle und Visualisierungshilfen machen den Umgang mit rhinoreverse spielend einfach.


1 Punkte-Netz (STL-Daten)
2 Skizzierte Berandungen der Flächen
3 Erzeugte Flächen

2. Innovative neue mathematische Methoden zur Erzeugung von getrimmten Flächen bringen erhebliche Vorteile
Im Gegensatz zu rhinoreverse 1 werden in der neuen Version getrimmte Flächen erzeugt. Diese Vorgehensweise ermöglicht es, gekrümmte Flächen im Raum durch beliebig viele Berandungskurven zu definieren (Bild 4 zeigt eine typische getrimmte Fläche – gelb markiert – mit mehr als vier Randkurven). Die Qualität der resultierenden Flächen konnte dadurch erheblich verbessert werden: Die Flächen sind glatter, weil deren innere Form von den Berandungskurven entkoppelt und nur noch von dem darunterliegenden Punkte-Netz abhängig ist. Auch der manuelle Aufwand bei der Flächenerstellung wurde dadurch um mehr als 50% reduziert: Es müssen weniger Kurven definiert werden. Um die Form des Punktenetzes aus Bild 1 darzustellen werden heute ca. 25 Flächen benötigt. Mit rhinoreverse 1 waren es noch doppelt so viele.


4 Skizzierte Flächen-Berandungen
5 Volumen-Operation vorher
6 Volumen-Operation nachher

3. Gute Qualität des erzeugten Flächenverbandes ermöglicht Solid-Modelling
Wenn mit der Operation "Healing" gearbeitet wird, werden die Übergänge zwischen den Flächen an die aktuelle "Absolute Toleranz" von Rhino angepasst. Auf diese Weise wird sichergestellt, dass der erzeugte Flächenverband hinterher problemlos für das Solid-Modelling und die NC-Bearbeitung verwendet werden kann (Bilder 5 und 6).

4. Schnelle Oberflächenabbildung
Die zusätzliche Option, mit vereinfachten Flächen zu arbeiten (bereits in rhinoreverse 1 verfügbar), wurde überarbeitet und verbessert. Ziel hierbei ist es, Punkte-Netze "quick and dirty" mit sehr wenigen Flächen zu überspannen. Bild 8/9 zeigt die Abbildung eines Gesichts durch nur 4 NURBS-Flächen.



8 Skizzierte Flächen-Berandungen
9 Im Skin-Modus erzeugte NURBS-Flächen

5. Die Features im Überblick:

  • Einlesen verschiedener Netz-formate (*.stl, *.wrl, *.vrml, *.af, *.nas, *.txt)
  • Einfaches Skizzieren der Flächenränder (Grid) mit der Maus auf der Netzoberfläche
  • Definition einer Fläche durch 2 bis 25 Randkurven (früher: 4 Randkurven)
  • Zusätzlicher Modus, um sehr schnell "quick and dirty" das Punkte-Netz mit sehr wenigen grossen Flächen zu überspannen
  • Verwendung von beliebigen T-Stössen zur lokalen Verfeinerung des Grids
  • Diverse Tastaturkommandos zum Modifizieren und Erweitern des Grids
  • Verwendung nur noch einer Datei (*.3dm) zum Speichern aller Daten
  • Automatische graphenbasierte Berechnung der Topology
  • Automatische Approximation der Startflächen an die Netzdaten
  • Automatische Berechnung der Flächenübergänge (innerhalb der eingestellten Rhino Toleranzen)
  • Hohe Toleranz bezüglich Löchern im Punkte-Netz
  • Zusätzliche "Healing"-Funktionen, um auch die Qualität schon bestehender Flächenmodelle verbessern zu können: Automatische Entfernung von kleinen Rissen, Stufen und Überlappungen.

zurück

 


HOME · PRODUKTE · SHOWCASE · TRAINING · SUPPORT · BESTELLEN · KONTAKT · IMPRESSUM